On Saturday, the All Blacks defeated the Wallabies 40-14 at Eden Park in Auckland to claim the Rugby Championship trophy.

New Zealand’s bonus-point victory extended their lead at the top of the standings to five points. Their point differential is now 39 points higher than South Africa’s.

Will Jordan’s, Codie Taylor’s, Sam Whitelock’s, and Samisoni Taukei’aho’s tries, as well as a first-half penalty try at Eden Park, kept New Zealand atop the table in the final round of matches.

The hosts cruised to their third straight victory.

The Wallabies’ losing streak against New Zealand at Eden Park was extended to 23 games, dating back to 1986.

Folau Fainga’a and Jordan Petaia converted tries for Australia in front of a sell-out crowd of 47 000 in Auckland.

The visitors paid dearly for their lack of discipline in the first half, as forwards Jed Holloway and David Porecki were both sent off as New Zealand built a 17-0 lead at halftime.

Holloway was yellow carded by Australia after only two minutes for a tip tackle on All Blacks flanker Dalton Papali’i.

Despite their numerical advantage, the All Blacks failed to capitalise and only broke the deadlock when Richie Mo’unga converted a penalty after 22 minutes.

Jordan then scored his 21st try in as many Tests with a magical moment.

The quick-footed winger raced to the line and sped past Petaia’s despairing tackle to cross.

Mo’unga converted, and the All Blacks’ relentless pressure forced the Australian defence to buckle once more.

Wallabies hooker Porecki was yellow carded for dragging down a maul on their line, and Irish referee Andrew Brace awarded a penalty try to make the score 17-0 at the break.

New Zealand captain Sam Whitelock was awarded a close-range converted try despite evidence that he was prevented from grounding the ball.

Mo’unga converted a penalty to put New Zealand up 27-0 before Taylor was shunted over for the game-winning fourth try.

The All Blacks threw bodies into a driving maul and Taukei’aho touched down off the back to put the hosts up 37-7.

Mo’unga, who had a near-perfect night with the boot, added a late penalty before Petaia crossed for Australia’s second try just before the whistle.


New Zealand’s

14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Jordie Barrett, 15 Beauden Barrett Caleb Clarke, 11, Richie Mo’unga, 10, Aaron Smith, 9, Ardie Savea, 8 Dalton Papali’i, 7 Akira Ioane, No. 6 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Ethan de Groot

16 Samisoni Taukei’aho (substitute), Ofa Tu’ungafasi 17, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 18 Nepo Laulala Hoskins Sotutu, 20 Finlay Christie, 21. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 22 Sevu Reece 23


14 Tom Wright, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 15 Andrew Kellaway Bernard Foley, 10 Jake Gordon, No. 9 Harry Wilson, No. 8 Pete Samu, 7, Sixth Rob Valetini, fifth Cadeyrn Neville, fourth Jed Holloway, third Allan Alaalatoa, second David Porecki, and first James Slipper (captain)

16 Folau Fainga’a (substitute), 18 Pone Fa’amausili, 17 Angus Bell Nick Frost, 19 Fraser McReight, 20 Nic White, 21. 23 Jordan Petaia, 22 Reece Hodge

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook Instagram Twitter LinkedIn to get the latest updates from Cape Town Tribune

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

Unraveling the Intricacies of Global Military Operation #STORM: Pascal Najadi’s Revelation and the Battle Against the Alleged Deep State

In an extraordinary narrative that has gripped the world at the onset…

European Rugby Officials Are ‘Optimistic’ About The Formation Of A Club World Cup.

European rugby officials refused to set a deadline for reaching an agreement…

Why Do These Health Workers Live In South Africa’s Poorest Villages?

Nomkhosi Mkhwanazi, 35, is sitting in her office at Hlabisa Hospital, which…

STOCK TAKE | Vegan Options Expand, And SA Climbs The Job Ladder

The days of deep-fried, crumbed mushrooms the consistency of an old shoe…